Visible to the public U.S.-German Workshop on the Internet of Things (IoT) / Cyber-Physical Systems (CPS)

U.S.-German Workshop on the Internet of Things (IoT) / Cyber-Physical Systems (CPS)


The ongoing fusion of information and communication technologies with engineering of physical systems has triggered tremendous changes in private and public sectors. These changes deeply influence the nature of systems we build, the technologies we use for development and manufacturing and the way we teach engineering. The resulting new generations of Cyber-Physical Systems (CPS) and their emerging platforms such as the Internet of Things (IoT) and Industrial Internet (II) require bringing together competencies both from the information technologies and the engineering disciplines. As a result, academia, industry, and society will need to expand capacity in the area of creating CPS in a dependable way.

Goals and Objectives:

The magnitude of research challenges and the urgency of addressing them require a strategic approach. Combining the specific strengths from the United States and from Germany is synergistic with the goal of accelerating progress in all aspects of research. The workshop, primarily sponsored by the U.S. National Science Foundation and the German Embassy in Washington, D.C. on behalf of the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF), discussed ongoing R&D activities in this area and intended to identify future joint research opportunities.

Workshop Dates and Location:

The 1.5-day workshop was held on January 19, 2016 at the German Embassy located at 4645 Reservoir Rd NW, Washington, DC 20007 in Washington, D.C. and on January 20, 2016 at the Westin Arlington Gateway Hotel located at 801 N. Glebe Road, Arlington, VA, 22203 in Arlington, VA.

Workshop Co-Chairs:

  • John Baras (University of Maryland - College Park)
  • Manfred Broy (TU Munich)
  • Peter Liggesmeyer (Fraunhofer IESE - TU Kaiserlauten)
  • Janos Sztipanovits (Vanderbilt University)

Workshop Sponsors:

  • German Embassy
    • Karsten Hess
  • German Bundesministerium for Bildung und Forchung (BMBF)
  • NSF
    • David Corman
    • Sankar Basu