Visible to the public Meet the Leaders in SoS Research

SoS Newsletter- Advanced Book Block

SoS Newsletter - Leaders

  • Dr. Carl Landwehr: A member of the 2012 Cyber Security Hall of Fame (, Dr. Landwehr is known as a leader in the field of trustworthy computing. His contributions have focused on high assurance software development through the identification of software vulnerabilities, token-based authentication, system evaluation, and multilevel security. He holds degrees from Yale and the University of Michigan and has taught at Purdue, Georgetown, Virginia Tech, and the University of Maryland. He worked as a senior researcher in cyber security at the Naval Research Lab, and has led cybersecurity programs at the National Science Foundation, and at IARPA. Long an active member of IEEE, he received their Outstanding Contribution Award in 2009. He is currently a Lead Research Scientist at the Cyber Security Policy and Research Institute (CSPRI) at George Washington University and also serves as a senior advisor to the Office of the Director of National Intelligence. (ID#:14-1012)
  • Dr. Gene Spafford: Dr Spafford, a leader in the field of computing, was elected to the Cyber Security Hall of Fame in 2013. His research has focused on computing and network security, and security policies and ethics. He founded the Center for Education and Research in Information Assurance and Security (CERIAS) at Purdue, and remains its Executive Director. He has served as an advisor and consultant on security and intelligence issues to multiple US Government agencies including the National Science Foundation and the Departments of Defense, Justice, and Energy, and to major corporations including Microsoft, Intel, and Unisys. He also served as a member of the President's Information Technology Advisory Committee. Active in many professional organizations, he has received awards from ACM, SANS and CRA, among others, for his leadership and contributions to computing and cyber security. He is a professor with appointment in Computer Science at Purdue University. (ID#:14-1013)
  • Dr. Rivest, one of the inventors of the RSA algorithm, is the Andrew and Erna Viterbi Professor of Computer Science at MIT's Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS) and a member of MIT's Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory (CSAIL). A 2012 inductee into the CyberSecurity Hall of Fame, he is also a member of the National Academy of Engineering, the National Academy of Sciences, and is a Fellow of the Association for Computing Machinery, the International Association for Cryptologic Research, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. His research interests currently focus on cryptography, computer and network security, voting systems, and algorithms. (ID#:14-1162)


Articles listed on these pages have been found on publicly available internet pages and are cited with links to those pages. Some of the information included herein has been reprinted with permission from the authors or data repositories. Direct any requests via Email to SoS.Project (at) for removal of the links or modifications to specific citations. Please include the ID# of the specific citation in your correspondence.