Visible to the public ACSAC 2016Conflict Detection Enabled

2016 Annual Computer Security Applications Conference (ACSAC)

December 5-9, 2016 | Los Angeles, California |

ACSAC brings together cutting edge researchers, with a broad cross-section of security professionals drawn from industry, government and academia, gathered to present and discuss the latest security results and topics. With peer reviewed papers, invited talks, panels, workshops, national interest discussions, and professional development and training courses, ACSAC continues its core mission of investigating practical solutions for computer security technology.

Special Focus: Security and Privacy in the Internet of Things

With estimates ranging from 10 to 50 Billion, the number of devices incorporating embedded computation and communicating over the Internet is expected to grow unimaginably large in just the next few years. In the past year, awareness of the security and privacy challenges posed by the Internet-of-Things has emerged as a major theme in Government, Industry, Academia, and the mainstream press. The practical nature of this problem area and urgency for novel solutions raises the bar for the cybersecurity research community. I encourage everyone to submit timely work on this topic, and look forward to hearing about progress at this year's conference.

The following workshops are colocated with ACSAC:

  • Industrial Control System Security (ICSS)
  • Layered Assurance Workshop (LAW)
  • Socio-Technical Aspects in Security and Trust (STAST)
  • Software Security, Protection and Reverse Engineering Workshop (SSPREW)

Organizing Committee

Conference Chair

  • Stephen Schwab, USC Information Sciences Institute

Program Chair

  • Wil Robertson, Northeastern University

Program Co-Chair

  • Davide Balzarotti, Eurecom

Case Studies Chair

  • Larry Wagoner, NSA

National Interest Track Chair

  • Charles Payne, Adventium Labs

Panels Co-Chairs

  • Hassan Takabi, University of North Texas
  • Suzanne McIntosh, Cloudera and NYU

Posters & Works-in-Progress Chair

  • Thomas Moyer, MIT Lincoln Laboratory

Professional Development Chair

  • Daniel Faigin, Aerospace Corporation

Workshops Chair

  • Harvey H. Rubinovitz, MITRE

Layered Assurance Workshop Chair

  • Rance DeLong, Santa Clara University

PPREW/SPP Worshop Chair

  • Todd McDonald, University of South Alabama

Layered Assurance Workshop Program Chair

  • Gabriela Ciocarlie, SRI International

Knowledge Coordinator

  • Dan Thomsen, SIFT

Local Arrangements Coordinator

  • Marshall Abrams, MITRE Corporation

Proceedings Coordinator

  • Adam Hahn, MITRE

Registration Coordinator

  • Art Friedman, NSA

Sponsorships Coordinator

  • Luanne Goldrich, Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Laboratory

Student Conferenceship Chair
David Balenson, SRI International

TracerFIRE Coordinator

  • Han Wei Lin, Sandia

Web Advisor

  • Robert H'obbes' Zakon, Zakon Group

ACSAC Curmudgeon

  • Marshall Abrams, MITRE

ACSA Communications Chair

  • Jay Kahn, MITRE

ACSA Government Liaison

  • David Balenson, SRI International

Steering Committee

  • Marshall Abrams, MITRE
  • Jeremy Epstein, NSF / SRI International
  • Daniel Faigin, Aerospace Corporation
  • Carrie Gates, Dell
  • Ann Marmor-Squires, The Sq Group
  • Charles Payne, Adventium Labs
  • Ron Ross, National Institute of Standards and Technology
  • Christoph Schuba, Ericsson
  • Cristina Serban, AT&T Security Research Center
  • Dan Thomsen, SIFT
  • Robert H'obbes' Zakon, Zakon Group LLC

Program Committee

  • Devdatta Akhawe, Dropbox, Inc.
  • Magnus Almgren, Chalmers University of Technology
  • Johanna Amann, ICSI
  • Manos Antonakakis, Georgia Tech
  • Adam Aviv, U.S. Naval Academy
  • Graham Baker, MIT Lincoln Laboratory
  • Lucas Ballard, Google
  • Adam Bates, University of Florida
  • Matt Bishop, University of California at Davis
  • Lorenzo Cavallaro, Royal Holloway
  • Gabriela Ciocarlie, SRI International
  • Sandy Clark, University of Pennsylvania
  • Lucas Davi, TU Darmstadt
  • Brendan Dolan-Gavitt, NYU
  • Manuel Egele, Boston University
  • Ariel Feldman, University of Chicago
  • Aurelien Francillon, Eurecom
  • Guofei Gu, Texas A&M University
  • Adam Hahn, Washington State University
  • Amir Houmansadr, University of Massachussetts, Amherst
  • Aaron Johnson, U.S. Naval Research Laboratory
  • Alexandros Kapravelos, North Carolina State University
  • Andrea Lanzi, University of Milan
  • Sangho Lee, Georgia Tech
  • Brian Levine, University of Massachussetts, Amherst
  • Zhiqiang Lin, UT Dallas
  • Long Lu, Stony Brook University
  • Federico Maggi, Politecnico di Milano
  • Stephen McCamant, University of Minnesota
  • John McDermott, U.S. Naval Research Lab
  • Suzanne McIntosh, NYU / Cloudera
  • Thomas Moyer, MIT Lincoln Laboratory
  • Nick Nikiforakis, Stony Brook
  • Jon Oberheide, Duo Security
  • Daniela Oliveira, University of Florida
  • Alina Oprea, RSA Laboratories, Cambridge
  • Xinming (Simon) Ou, University of South Florida
  • Zachary Peterson, Cal Poly State University
  • Michalis Polychronakis, Stony Brook University
  • Aravind Prakash, Binghamton University
  • Vanishree Rao, Xerox PARC
  • Konrad Rieck, Technische Universitat Braunschweig
  • Christian Rossow, Saarland
  • Kapil Singh, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center
  • Kevin Snow, ZeroPoint Dynamics
  • Gianluca Stringhini, University College London
  • Hassan Takabi, University of North Texas
  • Omer Tripp, IBM Watson
  • Julien Vanegue, Bloomberg LP
  • Hayawardh Vijaykumar, Samsung Research America
  • Chris Wacek, Invincea Labs
  • Maverick Woo, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Charles Wright, Portland State University
  • Dongyan Xu, Purdue University
  • Danfeng (Daphne) Yao, Virginia Tech
  • Katsunari Yoshioka, Yokohama National University
  • Fengwei Zhang, Wayne State University
  • Wenchao Zhou, Georgetown University
Event Details
Los Angeles, California