Visible to the public SAFECOMP17 Extended DeadlineConflict Detection Enabled

No replies
Anonymous's picture


The 36th International Conference on Computer Safety, Reliability and Security

12 - 15 September 2017 | Trento, Italy |

*** The paper submission deadline has been extended to 10 March 2017 (AOE) ***



  • Full paper submission: 10 March 2017 *EXTENDED*
  • Notification of acceptance: 8 May 2017
  • Camera-ready Submission: 12 June 2017
  • Conference: 13-15 September 2017

SAFECOMP Workshops: 12 September 2017
IMBSA (International Symposium on Model-Based Safety Assessment): 11-13 September 2017
SEFM (Intern. Conference on Software Engineering and Formal Methods): 5-8 September 2017

SAFECOMP was established in 1979 by the European Workshop on Industrial Computer Systems, Technical Committee 7 on Reliability, Safety and Security (EWICS TC7). Since then, it has contributed to the progress of the state-of-the-art in dependable application of computers in safety-related and safety-critical systems.
SAFECOMP is an annual event covering the state-of-the-art, experience and new trends in the areas of safety, security and reliability of critical computer applications.
SAFECOMP provides ample opportunity to exchange insights and experience on emerging methods, approaches and practical solutions. It is a single track conference without parallel sessions, allowing easy networking.

The conference covers all aspects related to the development, assessment, operation and maintenance of safety-related and safety-critical computer systems. Topics include, but are not limited to:

  • Fault-tolerant and resilient hardware and software architectures
  • Fault detection and recovery mechanisms
  • Distributed and real-time monitoring and control
  • Security and privacy protection mechanisms for safety applications
  • Safety/security risk assessment
  • Model-based analysis, design, and assessment
  • Formal methods for verification, validation, and fault tolerance
  • Probabilistic verification and validation
  • In-the-loop and model-based testing
  • Validation and verification methodologies and tools
  • Methods for qualification, assurance and certification
  • Compositional verification and certification
  • Architecture-driven assurance of safety and security
  • Dependability analysis using simulation and experimental measurement
  • Cyber-physical threats and vulnerability analysis
  • Safety guidelines, standards and certification
  • Safety and security interactions and tradeoffs
  • Safety and security cases
  • Multi-concern dependability assurance and standardization

Domains of application include (but are not limited to):

  • Railways, automotive, space, avionics, nuclear and process industries
  • Autonomous systems, advanced robotics, construction engines and off-road vehicles
  • Telecommunication and networks
  • Safety-related applications of smart systems and IoT (Internet of Things, Smart Anything Everywhere)
  • Critical infrastructures, smart grids, SCADA
  • Medical devices and healthcare
  • Defense, emergency & rescue
  • Logistics, industrial automation, off-shore technology
  • Education & training


Design, verification, and assurance of space systems.


The tradition of SAFECOMP is to act as a platform for bringing academic research and industrial needs together. Therefore, industrial contributions and real-world experience reports are explicitly invited.
We solicit two types of papers:

  1. regular papers (up to 14 pages),
  2. practical experience reports and tool reports (up to 8 pages) Papers exceeding the page limit will be excluded from the review process.

All papers will be reviewed by at least three program committee members. Papers must not have been previously published or concurrently submitted elsewhere.


All accepted papers will be published by Springer in the LNCS series (Lecture Notes on Computer Science). Submitted papers must conform to Springer LNCS author guidelines ( In addition, extended versions of the best papers will be considered for publication in a special issue of a safety-related international journal.


It is planned to have one day for workshops. Workshop proposals are welcome. The proposals must be sent by email to the SAFECOMP17 Workshop Chair ( They should include planned scope and contents, Program Committee, and duration (one full or half day). SAFECOMP Workshop Proceedings are planned if a properly reviewing process is implemented.
A dedicated space will be available for a Technical Exhibition in the area where coffee breaks and lunches take place. Organizations wishing to present their products or projects are invited to request further information from the conference secretariat.



  • Francesca Saglietti (Univ. of Erlangen-Nuremberg, DE)

General and Program Co-Chairs

  • Erwin Schoitsch (AIT Austrian Institute of Technology, AT)
  • Stefano Tonetta (FBK, IT)

Publication Chair

  • Friedemann Bitsch (Thales, DE)

Local Organizing Committee

  • Annalisa Armani (FBK, IT)
  • Silvia Malesardi (FBK, IT)

Workshop Chair

  • Erwin Schoitsch (AIT Austrian Institute of Technology, AT)

International Program Committee

  • Thomas Arts (Quviq, SE)
  • Peter Bishop (Adelard, UK)
  • Friedemann Bitsch (Thales, DE)
  • Jean-Paul Blanquart (Airbus Defence and Space, FR) Sandro Bologna (AIIC, IT) Andrea Bondavalli (University of Florence, IT) Jens Braband (Siemens, DE)
  • Antonio Casimiro (University of Lisbon, PT)
  • Peter Daniel (EWICS TC7, UK)
  • Ewen Denney (SGT/NASA Ames, US)
  • Felicita Di Giandomenico (ISTI-CNR, IT)
  • Wolfgang Ehrenberger (HS Fulda, DE)
  • John Favaro (Intecs, IT)
  • Alberto Ferrari (UTRC, IT)
  • Francesco Flammini (Ansaldo STS, IT)
  • Barbara Gallina (Malardalen University, SE)
  • Ilir Gashi (City University London, UK)
  • Janusz Gorski (Gdansk University of Technology, PL)
  • Jeremie Guiochet (LAAS-CNRS, FR)
  • Wolfgang Halang (Fernuniversitat in Hagen, DE)
  • Maritta Heisel (University of Duisburg-Essen, DE)
  • Chris Johnson (University of Glasgow, UK) Bernhard Kaiser (Berner&Mattner, DE) Karama Kanoun (LAAS-CNRS, FR) Joost-Pieter Katoen (RWTH Aachen University, DE) Tim Kelly (University of York, UK) John Knight (University of Virginia, US) Floor Koornneef (TU Delft, NL) Timo Latvala (Space Systems Finland, FI) Silvia Mazzini (Intecs, IT) John McDermid (University of York, UK) Frank Ortmeier (Otto-von-Guericke-Universitaet Magdeburg, DE) Philippe Palanque (University of Toulouse, FR)
  • Michael Paulitsch (Thales Austria, AT)
  • Holger Pfeifer (fortiss, DE)
  • Thomas Pfeiffenberger (Salzburg Research, AT) Peter Popov (City University London, UK)
  • Laurent Rioux (Thales R&T, FR)
  • Alexander Romanovsky (Newcastle University, UK) Matteo Rossi (Politecnico di Milano, IT) Kristin Yvonne Rozier (Iowa State University, US) John Rushby (SRI International, US) Francesca Saglietti (University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, DE) Christoph Schmitz (Zuhlke Engineering, CH) Erwin Schoitsch (AIT Austrian Institute of Technology, AT) Christel Seguin (ONERA, FR) Amund Skavhaug (NTNU, NO) Oleg Sokolsky (University of Pennsylvania, US) Wilfried Steiner (TTTech, AT) Mark-Alexander Sujan (University of Warwick, UK)
  • Stefano Tonetta (FBK, IT)
  • Martin Torngren (KTH, SE)
  • Mario Trapp (Fraunhofer, DE)
  • Elena Troubitsyna (Aabo Akademi, FI)
  • Tullio Vardanega (University of Padua, IT) Marcel Verhoef (European Space Agency, NL) Helene Waeselynck (LAAS-CNRS, FR)