Visible to the public LOPSTR 2017: 1st Call for PapersConflict Detection Enabled

No replies
Anonymous's picture


27th International Symposium on Logic-Based Program Synthesis and Transformation (LOPSTR 2017)

(co-located with PPDP 2017)

University of Namur, Namur, Belgium | October 10 - 12, 2017 |


  • Abstract submission: June 6, 2017
  • Paper/Extended abstract submission: June 13, 2017

INVITED SPEAKERS: to be announced

The aim of the LOPSTR series is to stimulate and promote international research and collaboration on logic-based program development. LOPSTR is open to contributions in logic-based program development in any language paradigm. LOPSTR has a reputation for being a lively, friendly forum for presenting and discussing work in progress. Formal proceedings are produced only after the symposium so that authors can incorporate this feedback in the published papers.

The 27th International Symposium on Logic-based Program Synthesis and Transformation (LOPSTR 2017) will be held at the University of Namur, Namur, Belgium; previous symposia were held in Edinburgh, Siena, Canterbury, Madrid, Leuven, Odense, Hagenberg, Coimbra, Valencia, Lyngby, Venice, London, Verona, Uppsala, Madrid, Paphos, London, Venice, Manchester, Leuven, Stockholm, Arnhem, Pisa, Louvain-la-Neuve and Manchester (you might have a look at the contents of past LOPSTR symposia at DBLP).

LOPSTR 2017 will be co-located with PPDP 2017 (the ACM SIGPLAN Symposium on Principles and Practice of Declarative Programming).

Topics of interest cover all aspects of logic-based program development, all stages of the software life cycle, and issues of both programming-in-the-small and programming-in-the-large. Both full papers and extended abstracts describing applications in these areas are especially welcome. Contributions are welcome on all aspects of logic-based program development, including, but not limited to:

  • synthesis
  • transformation
  • specialization
  • composition
  • optimization
  • inversion
  • specification
  • analysis and verification
  • testing and certification
  • program and model manipulation
  • transformational techniques in SE
  • applications and tools

Survey papers that present some aspects of the above topics from a new perspective, and application papers that describe experience with industrial applications are also welcome.

Papers must describe original work, be written and presented in English, and must not substantially overlap with papers that have been published or that are simultaneously submitted to a journal, conference, or workshop with refereed proceedings. Work that already appeared in unpublished or informally published workshop proceedings may be submitted (please contact the PC chair in case of doubt).

Submission Guidelines

Authors should submit an electronic copy of the paper (written in English) in PDF, formatted in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science style. Each submission must include on its first page the paper title; authors and their affiliations; contact author's email; abstract; and three to four keywords which will be used to assist the PC in selecting appropriate reviewers for the paper. Page numbers (and, if possible, line numbers) should appear on the manuscript to help the reviewers in writing their report. Submissions cannot exceed 15 pages including references but excluding well-marked appendices not intended for publication. Reviewers are not required to read the appendices, and thus papers should be intelligible without them.

Papers should be submitted via the Easychair submission website for LOPSTR 2017.

Best Paper Award and Prize

A best paper award will be granted, which will include a 500 EUR prize provided by Springer. This award will be given to the best paper submitted to the conference, based on the relevance, originality, and technical quality. The program committee may split the award among two or more papers, also considering authorship (e.g., student paper).

Journal Special Issue

A selection of the best papers will be invited for submission to a special issue of a journal. The submissions to the special issue should be substantial extensions of the proceedings versions and will undergo the usual journal reviewing process.


The formal post-conference proceedings will be published by Springer in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science series. Full papers can be directly accepted for publication in the formal proceedings, or accepted only for presentation at the symposium and inclusion in informal proceedings. After the symposium, all authors of extended abstracts and full papers accepted only for presentation will be invited to revise and/or extend their submissions in the light of the feedback solicited at the symposium. Then, after another round of reviewing, these revised papers may also be published in the formal proceedings.

Dates (AoE)

  • Abstract submission: June 6, 2017
  • Paper submission: June 13, 2017
  • Notification (for pre-proceedings): July 25, 2017
  • Symposium: October 10-12, 2017

Program Committee Members

  • Roberto Bagnara University of Parma and BUGSENG, Italy
  • Sabine Broda University of Porto, Portugal
  • Henning Christiansen Roskilde University, Denmark
  • Emanuele De Angelis University of Chieti-Pescara, Italy
  • Daniel De Schreye KU Leuven, Belgium
  • Maribel Fernandez King's College London, UK
  • Laurent Fribourg CNRS, ENS Paris-Saclay, France
  • Miguel Gomez-Zamalloa Complutense University of Madrid, Spain
  • Arie Gurfinkel University of Waterloo, Canada
  • Geoff Hamilton Dublin City University, Ireland
  • Gerda Janssens KU Leuven, Belgium
  • Bishoksan Kafle University of Melbourne, Australia
  • Andy King University of Kent, UK
  • Jacopo Mauro University of Oslo, Norway
  • Jose F. Morales IMDEA Software Institute, Spain
  • Jorge A. Navas SRI International, USA
  • Corneliu Popeea CQSE GmbH, Germany
  • Francesca Scozzari University of Chieti-Pescara, Italy
  • Theresa Swift NOVALINKS, Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal
  • Alicia Villanueva Universitat Politecnica de Valencia, Spain

Program Chairs

  • Fabio Fioravanti University of Chieti-Pescara, Italy
  • John Gallagher Roskilde University, Denmark and IMDEA Software Institute, Spain

Organizing Committee Chair

  • Wim Vanhoof University of Namur, Belgium