Visible to the public PANEL: HCSS 20th Anniversary ReflectionsConflict Detection Enabled

HCSS 20th Anniversary Reflections

The conference will kick off with a panel allowing for reflections on the twenty years of the HCSS conference.

Mark Jones is a professor and the current chair of the Department of Computer Science at Portland State University in Portland, Oregon. He is known, in particular, for his contributions to the functional programming language Haskell, including the design of key type system features, and the original implementation of Hugs, an early Haskell interpreter that has been widely used for teaching and research. Most recently, his work has focused on the role of programming languages and formal methods in the development, evaluation, and analysis of high-assurance, low-level software systems. 

John Launchbury is the Chief Scientist at Galois, collaborating with government and industry leaders to fundamentally improve the security of software and cyber-physical systems though applied formal mathematical techniques. Prior to rejoining Galois in 2017, John was the Director of the Information Innovation Office (I2O) at DARPA, where he led nation-scale investments in cybersecurity and artificial intelligence. Before founding Galois in 1999, Dr. Launchbury was a full professor in Computer Science, and he is internationally recognized for his work on the analysis and semantics of functional programming languages.

John received First Class Honors in Mathematics from Oxford University in 1985. He holds a Ph.D. in Computing Science from University of Glasgow and won the British Computer Society’s distinguished dissertation prize. In 2010, John was inducted as a Fellow of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM).

Brad Martin serves as the technical director within NSA’s Laboratory for Advanced Cybersecurity Research, the U.S. government’s premier cybersecurity research and design center; focused on conducting and sponsoring collaborative research in the technologies and techniques which will secure America’s information systems of tomorrow. Mr. Martin has a strong history in building communities in the area of high confidence software and systems research and development, as well as having initiated research groups at NSA supporting development of supporting scientific foundations and technologies. Mr. Martin serves as Co-Chair of the Networking and Information Technology Research and Development (NITRD) Program’s Computing-Enabled Networked Physical Systems (CNPS) Interagency Working Group (IWG). The CNPS IWG coordinates Federal R&D to advance and assure information technology-enabled systems that integrate the cyber/information, physical, and human elements. Additionally, Mr. Martin previously served as the Chair of the Special Cyber Operations Research and Engineering (SCORE) Subcommittee, a Subcommittee of the NSTC Committee on Homeland & National Security. The SCORE Subcommittee is focused on enhancing coordination and collaboration across the cyber research community, and specifically scoped for science and technology for national security needs in cyber.

Matthew Wilding is an Associate Director at Collins Aerospace.  Dr. Wilding received a PhD in Computer Sciences from The University of Texas at Austin and joined Collins Aerospace in 1996.  He has worked on many high confidence efforts, such as the machine-checked formal methods analysis of the AAMP7 microprocessor critical to several Collins information assurance products.  Dr. Wilding led the digital vision systems research group from 2011-2016, which developed the Integrated Digital Vision System (IDVS) to enhance soldier situational awareness. He currently manages the Trusted Systems research group, which collaborates with corporate product areas and government research sponsors to develop and apply automated verification methods for complex embedded systems.