Visible to the public Latin American Theoretical INformatics (LATIN 2014)

Latin American Theoretical INformatics
LATIN 2014
March 31 - April 4, 2014
Montevideo, Uruguay

A series of Symposia in Theoretical Computer Science was launched in 1992, to be held in Latin America: LATIN (Latin American Theoretical INformatics). This is the eleventh event of the series, after Sao Paulo, Brazil (1992), Valparaiso, Chile (1995), Campinas, Brazil (1998), Punta del Este, Uruguay (2000), Cancun, Mexico (2002), Buenos Aires, Argentina (2004), Valdivia, Chile (2006), Buzios, Brazil (2008), Oaxaca, Mexico (2010), and Arequipa, Peru (2012).

We seek papers presenting original research in theoretical computer science, including, but not limited to: algorithms (approximation, online, randomized, algorithmic game theory, etc.), analytic combinatorics and analysis of algorithms, automata theory and formal languages, coding theory and data compression, combinatorial algorithms, combinatorial optimization, combinatorics and graph theory, complexity theory, computational algebra, computational biology, computational geometry, computational number theory, cryptology, databases and information retrieval, data structures, formal methods and security, Internet and the web, parallel and distributed computing, pattern matching, programming language theory, and random structures.
Important Dates

Abstract submission: September 17, 2013 Paper submission: September 22, 2013 Notification: December 2, 2013 Final version: December 20, 2013
Invited Speakers

Gilles Barthe, IMDEA Software Institute
Ian Munro, University of Waterloo
Gonzalo Navarro, Universidad de Chile
Ronitt Rubinfeld, MIT
Robert Sedgewick, Princeton University


Authors are invited to submit an extended abstract in English no longer than 12 pages (including the bibliography) on letter-size paper in Springer LNCS format. If more space is needed, a clearly marked appendix, to be read at the discretion of the program committee, may be included if desired. Simultaneous submission of papers to any other conference with published proceedings, as well as the submission of previously published papers, is not allowed. Papers must be written in English.

The deadline for submissions is September 17, 2013 (firm deadline). If needed, a short 1 page abstract of the paper can be submitted by this deadline, and later the final extended abstract can be submitted by September 22, 2013 (also firm deadline). Neither short abstracts nor new extended abstracts submitted after September 17 will will be evaluated. Moreover, short abstracts not replaced by their extended version before September 22, will neither be evaluated.

LNCS As for previous events, the accepted extended abstracts will be published in the Springer-Verlag
Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) series.

Papers must be submitted electronically via the Easychair System.
Imre Simon Test-of-Time Paper Award

Starting in 2012, an award is given to the LATIN paper deemed to be most influential among all those published at least ten years prior to the current edition of the conference. Papers published in the LATIN proceedings up to and including 2004 are eligible for the 2014 award.
Montevideo, a port city, the capital of Uruguay and home to its largest University, the Universidad de la Republica, is a perfect destination for travelers looking for a relaxing stroll past colonial era buildings and along beautiful beaches. The Ciudadela Gateway, the only remaining section of the wall that once surrounded the entire city, now serves as the entrance to Ciudad Vieja, Montevideo's oldest neighborhood. Home to churches, museums, and theaters, at night the area comes alive with nightclubs playing Tango and Candombe music for crowds of dancers.

Travel and local information will be published in this site in the next months.
Conference Organisers
Program Chair:

Alfredo Viola, Universidad de la Republica

Program Committee:

R. Baeza-Yates, Yahoo! Labs.
J. Barbay, U. Chile
M. Bender, Stony Brook U.
J. Boyar, U. Southern Denmark
V. Dujmovic, Carleton U.
L. Epstein, U. Haifa
C. G.Fernandes, U. Sao Paulo
M. Fernandez, ENS Paris
J. von zur Gathen, U. Bonn
G. Gonnet, ETH Zurich
M. Kiwi, U. Chile
Y. Kohayakawa, U. Sao Paulo
E. Kranakis, Carleton U.
R. Kumar, Google
A. Lubiw, U. Waterloo
C. Martinez, UPC Barcelona
E. Mayordomo, U. Zaragoza
M. Molinaro, Carnegie Mellon U.
R. Motz, U. de la Republica
L. Moura, U. Ottawa
D. Panario, Carleton U.
S. Rajsbaum, UNAM
T. Rezk, INRIA
A. Richa, Arizona State U.
J. Sakarovitch, CNRS / ENST
N. Schabanel, CNRS / U. Paris Diderot
G. Seroussi, U. de la Republica
R. I.Silveira, UPC Barcelona
J. A.Soto, U. Chile
M. Strauss, U. Michigan
V. Trevisan, UFRGS
J. Urrutia, UNAM
T. Uustalu, Tallinn U. of Technology
B. Vallee, CNRS / U. Caen
A. Viola (Chair), U. de la Republica
S. Zanella-Beguelin, Microsoft Research

Local Organisation:

J. Molina, IDEAS
A. Molina, IDEAS
A. Pardo (Chair), U. de la Republica
G. Calderon, U. de la Republica


For further information, please contact

Event Details
Montevideo, Uruguay