Visible to the public PACRIM '17Conflict Detection Enabled

2017 IEEE Pacific Rim Conference on Communications, Computers and Signal Processing

Established in 1987, the Pacific Rim Conference on Communications, Computers and Signal Processing (PacRim) is the premier IEEE biennial event in the Pacific Northwest. In 2017, it will be held at the Engineering Computer Science building at the University of Victoria, Victoria, B.C., Canada, from August 21 to August 23.

PacRim17 features regular papers, special sessions, and keynote speakers. Several Gold Paper Awards will be given to the best papers at the conference. Extended version of selected papers will be considered for publication in international journals.

Victoria is one of most scenic cities of the world. The city of Victoria features mild weather and extensive international cuisines specializing in fresh seafood.

The scope of PacRim17 encompasses but is not limited to:

Communications Computers Signal Processing

  • Wireless Communications & Networking
  • MIMO and Massive MIMO
  • 5G, Millimeter-wave and Visible Light Communication
  • Cooperative & Collaborative Systems
  • Channel Measurement & Modeling
  • Cognitive Radio
  • Resource & Mobility Management
  • Network Architecture & Protocols
  • Internet of Things, Smart Grid, Ehealth
  • Vehicular Networks
  • Green Communications
  • Underwater Communications
  • Security and Cryptography

Computer Architecture

  • Parallel and Distributed Computing
  • Grid and Cloud Computing
  • Web Applications and Mining
  • Multimedia and Network Processors
  • Database and Knowledge Based Systems
  • Embedded, Reconfigurable, and Power-Aware Systems
  • Virtualization
  • Cyber Security and Privacy
  • Neural Networks and Genetic Algorithms
  • Application Specific Hardware Acceleration
  • Multi-core Processors and Applications

Medical and Biological Image and Signal Processing

  • Video and Image Processing
  • Wavelets and Filter Banks
  • Adaptive Filters and Algorithms
  • Speech and Audio Processing
  • Underwater Platforms and Sensors
  • Multimedia Signal Processing
  • Array Signal Processing
  • Sparse Signal Processing
  • Information Forensics
  • Signal Processing for Biometrics
  • Sensor Networks
  • Signal Processing forCommunications
  • Computer Vision
  • Sensor Networks
  • Machine Learning

Conference Committees

Conference Co-Chairs:

  • Kin Fun Li, University of Victoria
  • Michael McGuire, University of Victoria

Program Chair:

  • Fayez Gebali, University of Victoria

Technical Program Committee Chairs:

  • Geoffrey Messier, University of Calgary (Communications Track Chair)
  • Haytham Elmiligi, Thompson Rivers University (Computer Track Chair)
  • Mihai Sima, University of Victoria (Signal Processing Track Chair)

Steering Co-Chairs:

  • Aaron Gulliver, University of Victoria
  • Kin Fun Li, University of Victoria

Publication Co-Chair:

  • Chris Papadopoulos, University of Victoria

Finance Chair:

  • David Gregson, IEEE Victoria Section

International Liaison and Publicity Co-Chairs:

  • Aniello Castigilone, University of Salerno (Europe)
  • Watheq El-Kharashi, Ain Shams University (Africa)
  • Darshika Perera, University of Colorado (America)
  • Kosuke Takano, Kanagawa Institute of Technology (Asia)
  • Xudong Zhu, GUangdong Ocean University (Asia)

Web Chair:

  • Cheng Lei, University of Victoria

Technical Program Committee Members:

  • Michael Adams, University of Victoria
  • Ahmad Afsahi, Queens University
  • Panajotis Agathoklis, University of Victoria
  • Abdul-Iman Al-Sammak, University of Bahrain
  • Turki Al-Somani, Umm Al-Qura University
  • Yousra Alkabani, American University in Cairo
  • Yuanguo Bi, Northeastern University
  • Alexandra Branzan Albu, University of Victoria
  • Lin Cai, University of Victoria
  • Yongyu Dai, University of Victoria
  • Indrakshi Dey, University of Calgary
  • Surinder Dhanjal, Thompson Rivers University
  • Xiaodai Dong, University of Victoria
  • Kevin Dorling, University of Calgary
  • Haytham El Miligi, Thompson Rivers University
  • M. Watheq El-Kharashi, University of Victoria
  • Magdy El-Moursy, Mentor Graphics Corporation
  • Josh Erickson, Youneeq
  • Fayez Gebali, University of Victoria
  • T. Aaron Gulliver, University of Victoria
  • Alexander Hoole, University of Victoria
  • Atef Ibrahim, Electronics Research Institute, Dokki, Cairo
  • Kenneth Kent, University of New Brunswick
  • Mila Kwiatkowska, Thompson Rivers University
  • Kin Fun Li, University of Victoria
  • Wei Li, Beijing University of Posts and Telecommunications
  • Jing Lin, Qualcomm
  • Wei Lu, Keene State College, USNH
  • Wu-Sheng Lu, University of Victoria
  • Mohamed Mahmoud, Tennessee Tech University
  • Michael McGuire, University of Victoria
  • Geoffrey Messier, University of Calgary
  • Saeed Mosayyebpour, University of Victoria
  • Alireza Movahedian, University of Victoria
  • Stephen Neville, University of Victoria
  • Leyuan Pan, University of Victoria
  • Darshika Perera, University of Colorado, Colorado Springs
  • Musfiq Rahman, Thompson Rivers University
  • Daler Rakhmatov, University of Victoria
  • Abbas Rezaee, Payam Noor University
  • Jacqueline Rice, University of Lethbridge
  • Iwao Sasase, Keio University
  • Mihai Sima, University of Victoria
  • Iickho Song, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology
  • Wei Song, University of New Brunswick
  • Kapil Subramaniam, Birla Institute of Technology and Science
  • Hongrui Wang, Southeast University
  • Ning Wang, University of British Columbia
  • Shengrui Wang, Sherbrooke University
  • Martine Wedlake, IBM
  • Lei Xiao, Qualcomm
  • Zheng Xu, University of Victoria
  • Tong Xue, University of Victoria
  • Zhe Yang, Northwestern Polytechnical University
  • Tomoki Yoshihisa, Osaka University
  • Guang Zeng, University of Victoria
  • Ruonan Zhang, Northwestern Polytechnical University
  • Jun Zhu, University of British Columbia
  • Yanyan Zhuang, University of British Columbia