Visible to the public FM 2014

FM 2014 is the nineteenth in a series of symposia organized by
Formal Methods Europe, an independent association whose aim is
to stimulate the use of, and research on, formal methods for
software development. The symposia have been notably successful
in bringing together innovators and practitioners in precise
mathematical methods for software and systems development,
industrial users, as well as researchers. Submissions are
welcomed in the form of original papers on research and
industrial experience, proposals for workshops and tutorials,
entries for the exhibition of software tools and projects, and
reports on ongoing doctoral work.
It will have the goal of highlighting the development and
application of formal methods in connection with a variety of
disciplines such as medicine, biology, human cognitive modeling,
human automation interactions and aeronautics, among others. FM
2014 particularly welcomes papers on techniques, tools and
experiences in interdisciplinary frameworks, as well as on
experience with practical applications of formal methods in
industrial and research settings, experimental validation of
tools and methods as well as construction and evolution of
formal methods tools. The broad topics of interest for FM 2014
include but are not limited to:
Interdisciplinary formal methods: techniques, tools and
experiences demonstrating formal methods in interdisciplinary
Formal methods in practice: industrial applications of formal
methods, experience with introducing formal methods in industry,
tool usage reports, experiments with challenge problems. Authors
are encouraged to explain how the use of formal methods has
overcome problems, lead to improvements in design or provided
new insights.
Tools for formal methods: advances in automated verification and
model-checking, integration of tools, environments for formal
methods, experimental validation of tools. Authors are
encouraged to demonstrate empirically that the new tool or
environment advances the state of the art.
Role of formal methods in software and systems engineering:
development processes with formal methods, usage guidelines for
formal methods, method integration. Authors are encouraged to
demonstrate that process innovations lead to qualitative or
quantitative improvements.
Theoretical foundations: all aspects of theory related to
specification, verification, refinement, and static and dynamic
analysis. Authors are encouraged to explain how their results
contribute to the solution of practical problems.
General Chair
Jin Song Dong, National University of Singapore, Singapore.
Program Committee Co-Chairs
Cliff B Jones, Newcastle University, United Kingdom.
Pekka Pihlajasaari, Data Abstraction (Pty) Ltd, South Africa.
Jun Sun, Singapore University of Technology and Design, Singapore.
Doc Symposium Co-Chair
Annabelle McIver, Macquarie University, Australia.
Workshop Chair
Shengchao Qin, University of Teesside, United Kingdom.
Publicity Chair
Jonathan Bowen, London South Bank University, United Kingdom.
Kenji Taguchi, AIST, Japan.
Tutorial Chair
Richard Paige, University of York, United Kingdom.
Program Committee - Main Track
Bernhard Aichernig, Austria.
Richard Banach, School of Computer Science, University of Manchester, United Kingdom.
Juan Bicarregui, Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, United Kingdom.
Andrew Butterfield, Trinity College Dublin, Northern Ireland.
Ana Cavalcanti, United Kingdom.
Marsha Chechik, University of Toronto, Canada.
Yu-Fang Chen, Academia Sinica, Taiwan.
Wei-Ngan Chin, National Univ of Singapore, Singapore.
Dino Distefano, University of London, United Kingdom.
Jim Davies, University of Oxford, United Kingdom.
Frank De Boer, CWI, Netherlands.
Jose Luiz Fiadeiro, Royal Holloway, University of London, United Kingdom.
John Fitzgerald, Newcastle University, United Kingdom.
Marie-Claude Gaudel, LRI, Univ. Paris-Sud and CNRS, France.
Jaco Geldenhuys, Stellenbosch University, South Africa.
Dimitra Giannakopoulou, NASA Ames, United States.
Stefania Gnesi, ISTI-CNR, Italy.
Lindsay Groves, Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand.
Stefan Gruner, University of Pretoria, South Africa.
Anne E. Haxthausen, Technical University of Denmark, Denmark.
Ian J. Hayes, University of Queensland, Australia.
Constance Heitmeyer, Naval Research Laboratory, Washington DC 20375, United States.
Jane Hillston, University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom.
Shinichi Honiden, National Institute of Informatics, Japan.
Daniel Jackson, MIT, United States.
Cliff Jones, Newcastle University, United Kingdom.
Rajeev Joshi, Laboratory for Reliable Software, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, United States.
Peter Gorm Larsen, Aarhus School of Engineering, Denmark.
Axel Van Lamsweerde, Universite Catholique de Louvain, Belgium.
Gary T. Leavens, University of Central Florida, United States.
Yves Ledru, Laboratoire d'Informatique de Grenoble - Universite Joseph Fourier, France.
Michael Leuschel, University of Dusseldorf, Germany.
Brendan Mahony, DSTO, Australia.
Tom Maibaum, McMaster University, Canada.
Annabelle McIver, Macquarie University, Australia.
Dominique Mery, Universite de Lorraine, LORIA, France.
Peter Muller, ETH Zurich, Switzerland.
Tobias Nipkow, TU Munchen, Germany.
Colin O'Halloran, QinetiQ Ltd, United Kingdom.
Jose Oliveira, Universidade do Minho, Portugal.
Pekka Pihlajasaari, Data Abstraction (Pty) Ltd, South Africa.
Andre Platzer, Carnegie Mellon University, United States.
Zongyan Qiu, Peking University, China.
Ken Robinson, The University of New South Wales, Australia.
Andreas Roth, SAP Research, United States.
Abhik Roychoudhury, National University of Singapore, Singapore.
Augusto Sampaio, Federal university of Pernambuco, Brazil.
Steve Schneider, University of Surrey, United Kingdom.
Emil Sekerinski, McMaster University, Canada.
Ketil Stoelen, SINTEF, Norway.
Jun Sun, Singapore University of Technology and Design, Singapore.
Jing Sun, The University of Auckland, New Zealand.
Xiaoyu Song, Portland State University, United States.
Marcel Verhoef, Chess, Netherlands.
Willem Visser, Stellenbosch University, South Africa.
Chao Wang, Virginia Tech, United States.
Alan Wassyng, McMaster University, Canada.
Pamela Zave, AT&T Laboratories--Research, United States.
Lijun Zhang, Technical University of Denmark, Denmark.
Program Committee - Industry Track
Jun Sun, Singapore University of Technology and Design, Singapore.
Cliff Jones, Newcastle University, United Kingdom.
Pekka Pihlajasaari, Data Abstraction (Pty) Ltd, South Africa.
Michael Holloway, NASA, United States.
Ralf Huuck, NICTA, Australia.
Ewen Denney, SGT/NASA Ames, United States.
Jim Grundy, Intel Corporation, United States.
Hongjun Zheng, MathWorks, United States.
Wolfgang Grieskamp, Google, United States.
Cristina Cifuentes, Oracle, Australia.
Jon Burton, Praxis, United Kingdom.

Event Details